top of page

Braeden Kopec- Grom of The Month

Surfing since the age of 3, ten year old Braeden Kopec embodies stoke and style as he surfs all over the world inspiring others along the way. At three and a half years old Kopec did his first ESA contest and has already qualified for the NSSA in California at the age of 7. What is more, Kopec won his first east coast title at age 9 at the Vans East Coast Championships, yet another triumph. Although Kopec admits he enjoys Costa Rica, Puerto Rico and California... Flagler Beach Pier is his home break.

What is it that drives this grom and what is he like outside of the water? We asked him a few questions to find out more...

Where do you get inspiration?

God, my parents and my overall love of the ocean. It’s just so cool to be floating out there one moment and surfing the next.

Who is your favorite surfer?

I really like Jordy Smith’s power and style

Are you regular or goofy?

I’m regular footed but I used to do this funny switchfoot thing when I was really young like 3 or 4 years old at the ESA contests that I thought was so cool back then.

What is your favorite surf movie? It’s a few years old but I like Walking on Water.

What is your favorite color?

Orange…. and definitely green

Do you have any sponsors?

My sponsors are really incredible. They are so good to me and support me so well. I could not ask for a better group of people at these companies. O’Neill, Nixon, Quiet Flight Surfboards, The Surf Station, FCS, SunBum.

What advice would you give other surfers who are following in your footsteps?

Never give up. Always smile. Don’ be mean or grumpy! Be kind. Be humble. Not everyone will make the tour so you better have fun along the way and have a back up plan. Don’t act crazy or let your parents be crazy. It’s the ocean, there’s plenty of it for everyone so just go out and surf and have fun. Surfing is fun, don’t ruin it by being mean in the water or even jealous of somebody. And don’t be grumpy when a grom drops in on you. Always be a good example to others.

photo by: Rachael Kopec


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page